Business Cards for My Plant Lady

I’ve been working on some new business card concepts for Plantswoman Design whom I affectionately call my Plant Lady.  We’ve come a long way in the last year and that’s when it all started.  About a year ago Susan approached me because she needed new business cards printed and maybe we could update it a little.  Well, a year, two new logos, a garden show, a move and a website later we are coming back to the business card. We’ve worked really hard to get everything just right and “timeless” (so she doesn’t feel like it needs updated again anytime soon), especially the logo.  With new logo in hand it’s time to start applying it to all of Plantswoman’s business papers and such.

To let you in on what I’ve been working on of late I wanted to share with you some of the design comps we’ve been working through…

This is where I started.  One of color palettes we wanted to play with was an acid green and purple.  Susan wanted some wow factor and I envisioned the purple leaves in this sample letterpress-ed.  My personal favorite is the vertical sample with big fat leaves.  I can imagine the feel of the cotton paper and the leaves pressed into the paper.  Sigh… I love letterpress.  While this design is beautiful Susan wanted a more saturated look.

PWD Bus Card CompsI have to admit I had my doubts about this much color on one little card but I think it works.  The way the green pops on the purple background really surprised me.  We decided to stick with a horizontal orientation to ensure the business logo could be as big as possible (with in reason of course).  These designs struck both of us as a little busy and Susan thought using more leaves might take away from the leaf in the logo.  I can totally see her point so I went back to the drawing board.  We also wanted to try a different color palette.

Bus Card Comps 2This is our most recent round of comps.  How bout that blue, huh?  I don’t have much to say about this round as Susan and I haven’t had the chance to really let the designs sink in yet.  At first my favorite was the top sample with the branches but the bottom sample with the green peony is really starting to grow on me.  I think the peony needs to be a bit bolder and I need to fix the white corner on the upper right but all in all it is quickly becoming my favorite.

RPS Blog - PWD BCSo, what do you think?  Do you have favorites?  I’d love to know what you think so leave a comment below and let’s chat.

Leave a Reply

