Our Family Advent Season

Hello friends! We are almost to Christmas, can you even believe it? It’s amazing how fast it comes after waiting for it all year. One way I feel like I can slow things down is by having an advent calendar. I love the idea of an advent calendar so much I really wanted to make one for my family that would stay with us for the rest of my kids growing up years. Last year I tried having little boxes for each day and scripture etc but it just didn’t come together and it took up a lot of space. I found a great fabric advent calendar on pinterest that I fashioned this years try one. In an effort of full disclosure I could not find the link to this idea when I looked for it this year and I’m so sorry about that. The person who did this originally should get mad props for it.

20121218-151708.jpg
And here it is! I’m so sorry for the photo quality it really doesn’t do this project justice. It just didn’t work out.

I may do a tutorial on this later but here are some tidbits to my process. I drew all the characters on paper then use those paper patterns to cut them out. I used felt as a base and then layered each section of the character with fabric I had in my stash using hot glue.

20121218-151819.jpg20121218-151838.jpg

Here a few “in process” photos.

20121218-153310.jpg

20121218-153359.jpg

20121218-153426.jpg

20121218-153444.jpg

20121218-153502.jpg

And there you have it. We’ve really enjoyed it so far. I still need to work on the overall support structure for the whole piece and if you are interested we are using a scripture reading plan called Countdown to Christmas as posted on YouVersion.

So friends, are you advent calendar people? How do you countdown to christmas?

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

