A Gift Card Twist

Hello friends! How is your holiday season going? Our family is in full holiday mode and I’m loving it!!! We have quite a few birthdays in December in our family, one of them being my husband’s cousin. I’m not sure how it started but we have a little tradition of finding unique ways of giving our cousin his gift. Last year he wanted money toward an iPad. We were all to happy to oblige however we couldn’t just give him $20 in a nice neat bill we wanted to mess with him a bit. So, I got two rolls of quarters and used packing tape to tape them to the inside of a fairly large diaper box we had just emptied. I wrapped the whole thing up with a pretty little bow and card. When he opened it I thought he was going to fall over. It took him a minute of looking into the “empty” box to figure out what the gift was. Then he saw it and we all had a fit of laughter as he peeled each strip of tape off and counted his quarters. Good times!

This year is no different. After talking to our Aunt I bought an iTunes gift card and 4 boxes of nerds. Yup, I couldn’t just give him a boring old gift card, I had to mess with him a little.

20121218-145145.jpg

Using my Sillhoette Cameo and a pillow box shape from Lori Whitlock
I made a small pillow box, filled it with nerds and burrows the gift card as far down as I could in the nerds and securely tied it off. When he opened it our cousin burst out laughing right away. After he showed everyone he found the card and we all had a good laugh.

So what are you working on? Who are you messing with this season?:)

Until next time, thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

