Giving Thanks

Hello friends!  I know, I’m a little behind the ball on the whole giving thanks thing but better late than never right?  I’ve been enjoying my “Give Thanks” banner in my house since September.  In thinking of my fall decorations I really wanted to focus on wrapping fall and the Thanksgiving holiday in together.  I don’t have a lot of time to redecorate all the time so my decor has to last.  Yes, I am one of those people that still has holiday decorations up past Valentine’s day.

IMG_1899

One of my most favorite items that came with our house when we bought it is the branch and draperies above the picture window in the living room.  There is no end to the items I can and have put on that branch.  Banners have caught my imagination lately and this window loves them.

IMG_1896

For this project I went to the red tag section of Joann’s to find any neutral fabric I could find.  Because I never intend to wash or treat the fabric it really doesn’t matter what kind of fabric I choose here, just some that I like.  They had some cream upholstery fabric on sale for $8/yd so I grabbed a yard and a roll of jute and headed home.  I cut some paper samples first and pinned them up on my branch to get the scale right and then, using my rotary cutter, went to town cutting out my triangles.  I had brown paint already so I borrowed an angled paint brush from my daughters Crayola set and painted the letters one by one and dragged the edges of each piece through the paint to “seal” the edges.  The ends curl a bit but I really love the finished result.  I added the white twinkle lights in November for some extra light in that area of the room and I think they will stay there forever.

I am so thankful for this time in my life, albeit a little crazy.  I hope you and your family had a fabulous Thanksgiving celebration.  Do tell me, what Christmas projects are you working on???

Until next time, thanks for stopping by

Leave a Reply

