Falling into Autumn

Hello Friends!  It has happened…  September is here, the kids are back in school and nature is getting ready for winter.  Fall is one of my favorite seasons.  After a jam-packed summer I love the ritual of fall.  For me it is the return of schedule, routine and, after summer gives up (which can actually last the whole month of September here in the Northwest) and we start to turn our ovens on again, the return of comfort foods.  It is also the promise of hibernation.  We all do it…  Sure we don’t sleep the whole winter through but in our neighborhood we don’t really see our neighbors during late fall and winter.  After we put our gardens to bed for the winter (or don’t as has been our case the last two seasons) and the rain comes we scurry in and out of our back doors to our cars waving hastily through the cold and wet.  When spring comes along we enjoy getting reacquainted again and catching up with each other over lawn mowers and garden gloves.  After fall comes the Holiday season which is also a favorite of mine.  According to my family you can start listening to Christmas music in any month that ends in “ber”.  SeptemBER, OctoBER, NovemBER, DecemBER.  (And yes, while we haven’t listened to Christmas music we have broken out the Christmas movies already.)  My goal this year is to celebrate in such a way that I don’t feel the big rush and let down once December 25th has come and gone. December 25th is when the party should just be getting started and yet our culture is done already.

But I digress, let’s get back to fall.  Emma has learned to ride her bike this summer and we have enjoyed riding around our neighborhood.  She rides her bike and I strap Finn in the stroller and off we go (luckily for me she can’t out run me… yet).  We took a trip over to the local elementary school and I was so excited to find ACORNS!!!  Real life acorns!  I’m not sure I have ever seen acorns in real life.  I felt a little like I was stealing from the vast population of squirrels that live around us but I just couldn’t help myself.  We collected a handful of the most perfect acorns we could find and off we went.

To my great pleasure we found pine cones on the way home!  Beautiful perfect little pine cones right there on the street.  Again, not able to help myself, we gathered the best ones we could find and headed back to the house with our Autumnal treasures.

When we went back to the school later that week I found they had an abundance of pine cones as well and now we have quite a few to decorate with.  Right now some are adorning my hutch and most of them are in a box awaiting their turn.  They will make a wonderful addition to my Holiday decorations and I’m debating whether I should bedazzle them with white glitter or leave them au natural…  I’m leaning toward glitter but we will just have to wait and see.

So, dear friends, what is it about Fall that you enjoy?  Or perhaps you don’t enjoy it at all, what is your favorite season?

Until next time, thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Falling into Autumn

Leave a Reply

